My Top 5 Favourite Albums of 2017

So 2017 is over and people certainly have mixed feelings about the year overall. Some people are delighted to be moving on (out with the old, in with the new), and some people are devastated and long for 2017 to return (Some how…). Me? Well this year certainly did bring me some lovely positives and some bloody negatives, but I’m happy to see the start of 2018. Anyways, here are some highlights of 2017. (In my opinion)

5 – Sorority Noise – You’re not as _____ as you think 

Image result for sorority noise you're not as as you think

Sorority Noise are, to me, one of those bands where you can just completely be transported by their music. The heart and soul embedded in their lyrics is unmistakable and extremely gripping. You experience Cameron Boucher’s utterly surreal and morbid mind. I love them because they make me feel first hand what they feel. Youre not as _____ as you think incorporates love, hate, death and joy in the most pleasing way. This album may not be for everyone due to its emo and melancholy tone, however people who do love this have good reason to. It’s truly emotional.

4 – Tyler, The Creator –  Flower Boy

Related image

As well as this being the year I actually discovered Tyler, The Creator as an artist, 2017 was the year he came out with my favourite album of his. (So far) The rapper blends modern hip hop, rock, electronic, pop and indie elements to trade mark his unique sound. He stays true to his Odd Future past, however he experiments with new genres too, and that’s what I love. This album packs a heavy punch and it marks modern rap, whilst also respecting old hip hop culture. Even if you’re not into rap, Flower Boy is hard not to groove to.

3 – Foo Fighters – Concrete and Gold

Image result for foo fighters concrete and gold album cover

The Foo Fighters have a remarkable history of producing mighty fine albums, and apparently 2017’s Concrete and Gold was no exception. Concrete and Gold portrays the Foo Fighters’ diverse skill set and ability to make songs which appeal to so many people. This album took a long and truthful journey, delving into sadness, hope, happiness, motivation and love. You can count on this album to explore very different yet at the same time very recognisable sides of the Foo Fighters. An all-inclusive explosion of musical contrasts.

2 – Milk Teeth – Be Nice EP

Image result for milk teeth be nice songs

Milk Teeth are a gift to the current grunge, indie rock, punk scene. I absolutely adore all of their songs and I see them as angsty, raw masterpieces. From 2017, came the Be Nice EP and let me tell you, it’s a small salvo of gritty punk goodness. Although this is an EP so it only consists of 4 songs – 😦 – each of them are like a slap to the face of current emotional outrage. This EP is a wonderful display of Milk Teeth. However since it’s so short, I highly recommend checking out all of their other stuff too, you wouldn’t regret it.

1 – Wolf Alice – Visions Of A Life 

Image result for wolf alice visions of a life

Honestly when I heard that Wolf Alice were coming out with a new album I was ecstatic yet doubtful that they would make an album better than My Love is Cool. And then when I heard Visions Of A Life, I was ashamed of my previous assumption and proceeded to make a shrine for Visions Of A Life. All jokes and weird truths aside, this album is a master piece. They effortlessly include their rocky, grungey side; yet they massively incorporate their beautiful and gentle side. I mean it really just takes you away when you’re listening to this. It empowers me with confident rebellion and appreciation for everyone I have in my life. It’s hard not to be hypnotised and immensely appreciative for music like this. I love Wolf Alice because of their gentle yet powerful and abrasive sound, I think it’s really beautiful.

That’s my personal list of My Favourite Albums (and EP) of 2017, I hope you got some enjoyment out of hearing me nerd out about my favourite albums! Anyway, hope you all have a kick-ass 2018 and let’s just see what it brings us music-wise…

Thank you!

 

Author: zensarah

'Female Fronted is not a genre' - Ladyfuzz

Leave a comment